APWU: MS-1 TL 6 Handbook and related MMOs

Via Idowu Balogun, APWU Maintenance Division Director: Please find attached the book marked version as presented at last week’s Webinar. The current TL 6 and related MMOs are enclosed, published and updated. Based on several requests from the field, we are scheduled to repeat MS 1 Webinar on Friday September 13, 2019 at 3pm EST….

 Continue reading

APWU: New MS-1 Settlement and Implementation

August 12, 2019 On Aug. 8, the Maintenance Craft reached a settlement with the USPS regarding Handbook MS-1, TL-5 and TL-6 Revisions and Related Maintenance Management Orders, originally grieved by current Maintenance Division Director Idowu Balogun. On Sept. 13, 2017, Arbitrator Goldberg remanded the MS-1 revisions case nos. Q10T-4Q-C-14171644/ Q10T-4Q-C-16481407 back to the APWU and…

 Continue reading

APWU: USPS Notification on Informed Mobility Safety Observation Tool

From: Lynn Pallas-Barber <lpallas@apwu.org> Sent: August 6, 2019 4:23 PM To: Regional Coordinators <RegionalCoordinators@apwu.org>; NBAs <NBAs@apwu.org> Cc: Clint Burelson <cburelson@apwu.org>; Lamont Brooks <lbrooks@apwu.org>; Terry Martinez <terry_martinez@apwu.org>; Idowu Balogun <ibalogun@apwu.org>; Michael Foster <mfoster@apwu.org>; Javier Pineres <jpineres@apwu.org> Subject: FW: Notification No. GCCG20190226 Informed Mobility Safety Observation Tool Brothers and Sisters, Please find attached a recent notification on…

 Continue reading

Postal Worker West – July 2019 Edition

Via APWU Western Region Coordinator Omar M. Gonzalez: PMG & BoG Plan To Cut Jobs & Benefits Fight Over Contract Leaps Forward Forced Agency Merger Could Affect Health Benefits and Retirement Skewed Data Hurts Workers Day of Mourning Admin Leave Deadline Nears “Where Is My Grievance?” Rights Of Newly Converted PSEs What’s Hot In Safety?…

 Continue reading

[UPDATED July 17, 2019] CDC: Summary of Oshkosh, Wisconsin Postal Facility Health Hazard Evaluation

In February 2019, the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) received a union request for a health hazard evaluation (HHE) at a U.S. Postal Service (USPS) facility located at 1025 West 20th Street in Oshkosh, Wisconsin. The union was concerned that several employees had been diagnosed with Methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA) cellulitis. The…

 Continue reading

$2M Jury Award to Employee Vacationing While on Medical Leave Highlights Pitfalls for Employers

By McGuireWoods LLP – June 26, 2019 It is no secret that employees sometimes abuse benefits under the Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA). Nor is it a secret that pitfalls abound for employers trying to limit such abuse while accommodating legitimate needs for medical leave. A recent decision from the Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court…

 Continue reading

NALC: New Letter Carrier Resource Guide is available online

NALC’s Letter Carrier Resource Guide combines the 2016 City Carrier Assistant Resource Guide and the 2014 Letter Carrier’s Guide into one new, improved, merged, and updated publication. A one-stop shop for valuable information for all city letter carriers at every stage of their career. With a redesigned format and over twenty pages of new information,…

 Continue reading

Two Recent NLRB Decisions of Note

Local 307, National Postal Mailhandlers Union (NPMHU) (07-CB-218938; 367 NLRB No. 144) Detroit, MI, June 4, 2019. The Board granted the General Counsel’s Motion for Default Judgment based on the Respondent’s failure to file an answer to the complaint. Finding no merit in the Respondent’s assertion that it was not properly served with the complaint,…

 Continue reading