

## Postal Regulatory Commission

Postal Regulatory Commission 901 New York Avenue, NW Suite 200 Washington, DC 20268-0001 www.prc.gov Phone: 202-789-6829 Fax: 202-789-6891

Contact: Gail Adams gail.adams@prc.gov

## **Press Release**

October 17, 2018

## White House Announcement on Universal Postal Union

Statement of Chairman Robert G. Taub

**Washington, DC** – October 17, 2018. Earlier today, a statement was issued by the White House Press Secretary regarding President Trump's receipt of a State Department report pursuant to an August 23<sup>rd</sup> Presidential Memorandum (https://www.whitehouse.gov/briefings-statements/statement-press-secretary-38/). In light of this, Postal Regulatory Commission Chairman Taub reiterates his previously issued statement of August 23<sup>rd</sup>.

"The anticompetitive nature of the Universal Postal Union (UPU) has concerned the United States Government since the Reagan Administration. The increasingly competitive and commercial nature of the market has exacerbated these long-standing distortions. Yet, little has changed at the UPU. The UPU continues to promulgate agreements that require posts to undercharge for delivery of inbound mail, to insulate postal shipments from full application of national customs laws, and to promote a different legal regime for postal operators and competing private carriers. President Trump's concurrence today with the State Department recommendation to adopt self-declared rates for terminal dues as soon as practical, and no later than January 1, 2020, is a tremendous step towards finally addressing these distortions on behalf of our fellow Americans – particularly U.S. merchants, U.S. mailers, and U.S. private-sector carriers who are trying to compete fairly in these global markets.

The Postal Regulatory Commission is an independent federal agency that provides regulatory oversight over the U.S. Postal Service to ensure the transparency and accountability of the Postal Service and foster a vital and efficient universal mail system. The Commission is comprised of five Presidentially-appointed and Senate-confirmed Commissioners, each serving terms of six years. The Chairman is designated by the President. In addition to Chairman Robert G. Taub, the other commissioners are Vice Chairman Tony Hammond and Commissioners Mark Acton and Nanci Langley. Follow the PRC on Twitter: @PostalRegulator