APWU: Rep. DeLauro Introduces Bill To Protect Overnight Delivery Standards

APWU_NEWS_5Web News Article #: 080-2013
06/21/2013 – Joined by 63 other members of the House, Rep. Rosa DeLauro (D-CT) introduced the Protect Overnight Delivery Act (H.R. 2459) on June 20, which would protect overnight mail delivery by preventing the USPS from weakening delivery standards. Moving from overnight to two or three day delivery standards will not only slow mail delivery, it will result in closure of mail processing centers and the loss of approximately 30,000 jobs, Rep. DeLauro said.

Among the original co-sponsors of the bill were 62 Democrats and 1 Republicans.

“Again and again members of Congress have asked the Postal Service not to unilaterally eliminate overnight delivery,” she said. “The Postmaster General should not pre-empt Congressional action and, in the absence of a comprehensive bill, Congress should move forward with this legislation.

“Ending overnight delivery standards – and the subsequent consolidation of processing facilitates – will have a disastrous impact on unemployment. With unemployment high, this is a particularly bad time for the Postal Service to eliminate jobs.

“Our postal workers do an extraordinary service for the community and should be treated with the respect and gratitude they have earned,” Rep. DeLauro added.

The lawmaker is also a co-sponsor of the Postal Service Protection Act of 2013 (S. 316 / H.R. 630), which would remove the retiree benefits pre-funding burden from the Postal Service and would return billions of dollars in overpayments the USPS made to federal retirement accounts to the Postal Service.

Co-Sponsors of the Protect Overnight Delivery Standards Act:

Rep. Terri Sewell
Rep. Ron Barber
Rep. Raul Grijaiva
Rep. Kyrsten Sinema
Rep. Karen Bass
Rep. Tony Cardenas
Rep. Judy Chu
Rep. Susan Davis
Rep. Anna Eshoo
Rep. Janice Hahn
Rep. Jared Huffman
Rep. Barbara Lee
Rep. Grace Napolitano
Rep. Raul Ruiz
Rep. Loretta Sanchez
Rep. Adam Schiff
Rep. Mark Takano
Rep. Juan Vargas
Rep. Joe Courtney
Rep. Rosa DeLauro
Rep. Elizabeth Esty
Rep. John Larson
Rep. Corrine Brown
Rep. Alcee Hastings
Rep. John Lewis
Rep. Bobby Rush
Rep. Janice Schakowsky
Rep. Michael Michaud
Rep. Chellie Pingree
Rep. William Keating
Rep. Edward Markey
Rep. James McGovern
Rep. John Conyers Jr.
Rep. Keith Ellison
Rep. Betty McCollum
Rep. Richard, Nolan
Rep. Collin Peterson
Rep. Timothy WalzNevada
Rep. Dina Titus
New Hampshire
Rep. Carol Shea-Porter
New Jersey
Rep. Robert Andrews
Rep. Bill Pascrell Jr.
Rep. Donald Payne Jr.
Rep. Albio Sires
New Mexico
Rep. Ben Ray Lujan
New York
Rep. Yvette Clarke
Rep. Eliot Engel
Rep. Michael Grimm
Rep. Brian Higgins
Rep. Steve Israel
Rep. Gregory Meeks
Rep. Jose Serrano
Rep. Louise McIntosh Slaughter
Rep. Paul TonkoOhio
Rep. Marcy Kaptur
Rep. Earl Blumenauer
Rep. Suzanne Bonamici
Rep. Peter DeFazio
Rep. Robert Brady
Rep. Allyson Schwartz
Rep. Sheila Jackson Lee
Rep. Marc Veasey
Rep. Filemon VelaVermont
Rep. Peter WelchWisconsin
Rep. Mark Pocan

via Rep. DeLauro Introduces Bill To Protect Overnight Delivery Standards | APWU.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *